full circle

by wynlim

I started this posterous when I first arrived at SF last year and I thought it should be apt that I should do a post upon returning to this city. 

SF will always be special to me. It is the city I have found myself and a new lease of life. In many ways it is almost as though I was reborn again. 

I am a different person before and after SF, July 2011. 

It is hard to tell the difference if you’ve just gotten to know me, but friends who knew me prior to 2011 would know how extreme the transformation has become. 

To be really honest, it has not hit me yet that I am here. Everything has happened so quickly that I didn’t have time to react. I am not even reacting now. The only reaction I really had was that I was very, very, very happy to see my team. For the longest time I wasn’t sure if I was ever going to see them again.

It made me realise that I wanted to be with them more than the location itself, but I have not really immersed myself into the city yet. 

I have a million thoughts in my head that I would like to share and write. But I don’t have the headspace right now, having just travelled 8,447 miles across the oceans. 

I am just very grateful to be here and all the things that have happened between the first time I stepped into this city and upon returning to her once again. 

With the benefit of hindsight, I recognise that this one year journey I had to take in-between was neccessary, and if I could choose again, I’ll definitely take on this one year in limbo, because it has allowed me to grow into myself. 

That being said, I am looking forward to finally settling somewhere. I didn’t realise it before but I actually really like having a wardrobe. Living out of a suitcase was fun – for a while. I also miss having a space to return to, somewhere I can you know, put stuff I like around without thinking that I have to pack it in a suitcase soon.

I am sure there will come upon a time when I’ll miss my nomadic travels, but for now I would like to focus on one single thing – my work. Having to constantly think where I was going was a distraction. 

For once, it’ll be really nice to live life distraction free. 

